Posted in Life in General

2013 Korean Government Scholarship Program (Graduate Studies)

Here’s some good news to those who are hoping to go to grad school in Korea.  You may just be able to go on a government-sponsored scholarship!

Korea’s National Institute for International Education (NIIED) just announced that applications for the Korean Government Scholarship Program (KGSP) for international students are now open.  The application is solely for those pursuing a graduate degree (master’s or doctorate).

There are two ways to apply for the scholarship:

  1. through the Korean embassy in your country, or
  2. through the designated Korean university of your choice.

Please note that you may only apply through either one.  Meaning, you may only apply through the Korean embassy in your country OR through the designated Korean university.  You cannot apply through both channels, otherwise your application will be disqualified.  This is very important.

Each country are given a quota of the number of scholarship grantees.  For the Philippines, for example, only four (4) of the applicants screened by the Korean embassy will be selected, while eight (8) of the Filipino applicants from the 60 designated Korean universities will have the chance to get the scholarship.  That is only 12 Filipinos of the 760 grants the KGSP will be providing.  I know it’s a long shot, but you’ll never know unless you try.  I sent mine for last year’s, but I didn’t get in.  I would try again this year if I could, but I’m tied to my work contract here, so I might try again next time.

So what is in the scholarship package?

  • 1 year Korean language studies (full coverage)
  • Airfare: Round-trip economy class ticket to Korea (not including domestic travel in scholar’s home country)
  • Monthly allowance of 900,000 Korean Won (KRW) per month
  • Research allowance between 210,000 KRW to 240,000 KRW, depending on your degree/program
  • A one-time relocation/settlement allowance of 200,000 KRW upon arrival
  • Tuition: all admission fees will be waived by the designated university, and tuition will be paid for by NIIED
  • Medical insurance of 20,000 KRW per month (limited coverage)

Coverage period of the scholarship:

  • Three years for Master’s (1 year Korean language studies + 2 years of Master’s)
    • September 1, 2013 – August 31, 2016
  • Four years for Doctoral (1 year Korean language studies + 3 years of Doctoral)
    • September 1, 2013 – August 31, 2017

Deadline for applications is on March 31, 2013, but better check with your chosen designated university for their respective deadline.  So hurry and start getting your documents in order.

For more information, visit NIIED’s website for more details, and download the information and application packet here.

Good luck!  화이팅! ^^

Disclaimer: The information provided in this post is based on the information packet provided by the NIIED website, posted on February 7, 2013.  Changes may be made by the scholarship body, so it is best to check the website provided above for accuracy.

Author:

I'm a self-confessed Asian-drama addict. I love Korean, Japanese and Taiwanese dramas, movies, songs, and artists. When I'm not watching/listening to them, I work. So this blog is where I write anything that I think I need to share.

6 thoughts on “2013 Korean Government Scholarship Program (Graduate Studies)

  1. Hi,

    I am an interested applicant also from the Philippines. I’d like to know if this is being done yearly? If NIIED requires a maintaining grade for you be able to continue your scholarship?

    Thank you!

    All the best!

    1. Oops. Sorry for the very, very late reply to your query. I haven’t been paying attention to my blog for some time.

      To answer your questions:
      -“I’d like to know if this is being done yearly?” – Yes. It is yearly. You may check the website of the Korean Embassy in the Philippines for update. They announce the undergraduate and the graduate programs separately.

      -“If NIIED requires a maintaining grade for you be able to continue your scholarship?” – Yes. You may read more about the requirements and conditions for the scholarship included in the information packet. You may search for it on the said website (link above), or I can email a copy to you for reference.

      It would be better if you check with a Korean university first if you qualify and if your program/course of choice would give you a better chance to be selected for the program. It was very discouraging when I spoke with the Embassy regarding a possible endorsement for the program. I was told that only those recommended by the top universities in Manila will be considered for nomination by the embassy. The university route is a ‘kinder’ and easier way to go.

      The best of luck to you!

    1. Hi Amanda! Thanks for visiting my site. Check out my latest post on the 2014 KGSP Graduate Program application. I’ve included the links where you can download the information packet, including the application forms. Deadline for submission is on March 28. Good luck! 🙂

    1. Hi! Thanks for visiting my site. I just made a post on the 2014 KGSP Graduate Program here. If you scroll down to the bottom of the post, you should see the links where you can download all the information you may need, including the forms. All the best to you!

Leave a comment